WAVERLEY BOROUGH COUNCIL

COUNCIL MEETING – 18 OCTOBER 2016

LOCAL GOVERNMENT AND HOUSING ACT 1989

LOCAL GOVERNMENT (COMMITTEES AND POLITICAL GROUPS)

REGULATIONS 1990

- The Council is under a duty to review the allocation of seats on the principal Committees, namely the two Overview and Scrutiny Committees and the Regulatory Committees, i.e. the Licensing and Regulatory Committee and the Joint Planning Committee, at, or as soon as practicable after, any change to the political composition of the Council. Calculations giving the allocation of seats are set out below.
- 2. Following the recent resignation of Councillors Paddy Blagden and David Munro and the resulting by-elections, Cllrs Jerry Hyman and John Ward have been elected to the Council as Farnham Residents. The Conservative and Farnham Residents Groups are both registered under the provisions of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989. There is one Independent Member of the Council.

Following the recent sad death of Cllr Brian Ellis, there is currently one vacancy on the Council which will be filled at a by-election on a date yet to be arranged. The political breakdown of the Council is now:-

Conservative Group	Farnham Residents	Independent	Vacancy	
50	5	1	1	

- 3. To calculate the allocation of seats on principal committees, it is necessary to proceed as follows:-
 - (i) Total number of seats on all relevant committees 72
 - (ii) Proportion that each registered political group forms of the total membership of the Authority in accordance with the above registration:-

Conservative Group	Farnham Residents	Independent	Vacancy	
87.72 %	8.772 %	1.754 %	1.754 %	

(iii) Apply proportions to the relevant Committees to arrive at a total share of seats:-

Conservative Group	Farnham Residents	Independent	Vacancy
63 (by rounding)	7 (by rounding)	1 (by rounding)	1 (by rounding)

(iv) Apply proportions to each principal committee to give a provisional entitlement:-

Committee	No. of Seats	Conservative Group	Farnham Residents	Independent	Vacancy
Overview and Scrutiny:					
1. Corporate	15	13	2	0	0
2. Community	15	13	1	1	0
Others:					
 Licensing & Regulatory Committee 	12	11	1	0	0
Joint Planning Committee	23	20	2	0	1*
5. Audit	7	6	1	0	0
	<u>72</u>	<u>63</u>	<u>7</u>	1	<u>1*</u>
Standards Panel	8 (+1)	8	1		

[*a vacancy will remain on the Joint Planning Committee until the outcome of the byelection is known and the political proportions are updated again at the next Council meeting].

4. It is necessary to re-appoint the Waverley members on the Surrey County Council Local Committee for Waverley (serviced by the County Council) on which Waverley has an entitlement of nine seats. Based on proportionality calculations, the entitlements are as follows:-

Committee	No. of Seats	Conservative Group	Farnham Residents	Independent	Vacancy
SCC Local Committee	9	8	1	0	0

5. The Area Planning Committees are calculated differently because a separate proportionality calculation is made for each area. As a result of the recent by-elections in Farnham Castle and Farnham Shortheath and Boundstone Wards, the entitlements for the Western Area are now as follows:-

Committee	No. of Seats	Conservative Group	Farnham Residents	Independent	Vacancy
Western Area Planning	13	9	3	1	0

6. There will be a resulting vacancy on the Eastern Area Planning Committee as a result of the death of Cllr Brian Ellis but this will remain a vacancy as it cannot be filled until after the by-election when a new member for Cranleigh West ward is elected. However, a new Chairman and Vice-Chairman (for the

Eastern and Central Area Planning Committees) are identified in the membership lists attached.

Recommendation

It is recommended that the principal and Area Planning Committees, together with the Surrey County Council Local Committee, be reappointed with revised memberships as set out in the Annexe, to be further amended following the outcome of the upcoming by-election.

- - - - -

ANNEXE 1

LOCAL GOVERNMENT AND HOUSING ACT 1989 LOCAL GOVERNMENT (COMMITTEES AND POLITICAL GROUPS) REGULATIONS 1990

Committee	Conservative	Farnham Residents	Independent
Overview and So	crutiny Committees		
Corporate (15)	Cllr Mike Band Cllr Patricia Ellis Cllr Pat Frost Cllr Michael Goodridge	Cllr John Williamson # Cllr Jerry Hyman	
	Cllr Christiaan Hesse Cllr Stephen Hill Cllr Peter Isherwood Cllr Denise Le Gal Cllr Peter Martin Cllr David Round Cllr Richard Seaborne Cllr Bob Upton Cllr Ross Welland		
	<u>Substitutes</u>	Substitute	<u>Substitute</u>
	Cllr Anna James Cllr Nicholas Holder Cllr Nick Williams	Cllr John Fraser	
Community (15)	Cllr Maurice Byham Cllr Carole Cockburn Cllr Mary Foryszewski Cllr Val Henry Cllr Nicholas Holder Cllr David Hunter Cllr Denis Leigh Cllr Sam Pritchard Cllr Wyatt Ramsdale Cllr Simon Thornton Cllr Ross Welland Cllr Liz Wheatley * Cllr Nick Williams	Cllr Jerry Hyman #	Cllr Andy MacLeod
	<u>Substitutes</u>	Substitutes	
	Cllr Anna James Cllr Richard Seaborne	Cllr John Williamson	

Cllr Christiaan Hesse

Committee	Conservative	Farnham Residents	Independent
Regulatory Committees			
Licensing and Regulatory (12) [NO CHANGE]	Cllr Maurice Byham Cllr Patricia Ellis * Cllr Tony Gordon-Smith Cllr Mike Hodge Cllr Simon Inchbald # Cllr Peter Isherwood Cllr Anna James Cllr Carole King Cllr Robert Knowles Cllr Libby Piper Cllr Bob Upton	Cllr John Fraser	
	<u>Substitutes</u>	Substitutes	
	Cllr Nick Williams	Cllr John Williamson	

Committee	Conservative	Farnham Residents	Independent
Joint Planning Committee (23)	Cllr Brian Adams Cllr Mike Band Cllr Maurice Byham * Cllr Carole Cockburn	Cllr Jerry Hyman Cllr John Ward	
[1 vacancy]	Cllr Kevin Deanus Cllr David Else Cllr Mary Foryszewski Cllr Pat Frost Cllr John Gray Cllr Christiaan Hesse Cllr Stephen Hill Cllr Nick Holder Cllr David Hunter Cllr Peter Isherwood # Cllr Anna James Cllr Stephen Mulliner Cllr Jeanette Stennett Cllr Stewart Stennett Cllr Chris Storey Cllr Nick Williams		
Central Area Planning (14) (13 + Chairman from Eastern)	Cllr Andrew Bolton Cllr David Else # Cllr Nick Holder Cllr David Hunter Cllr Anna James Cllr Denis Leigh Cllr Peter Martin Cllr Tom Martin Cllr Stefan Reynolds Cllr Simon Thornton Cllr Bob Upton Cllr Liz Wheatley Cllr Nick Williams		
Eastern Area Planning (13) (12 + Vice- Chairman from Central)	Cllr Mike Band Cllr Maurice Byham * Cllr Kevin Deanus Cllr Patricia Ellis Cllr Mary Foryszewski Cllr Michael Goodridge Cllr John Gray Cllr Val Henry Cllr Richard Seaborne Cllr Jeanette Stennett Cllr Stewart Stennett Vacancy		

Committee	Conservative	Farnham Residents	Independent
Western Area Planning (14) (13 + Chairman of Southern)	Cllr Carole Cockburn * Cllr Pat Frost Cllr Jill Hargreaves Cllr Stephen Hill Cllr Mike Hodge Cllr Martin Lear Cllr Julia Potts Cllr Sam Pritchard Cllr Christopher Storey	Cllr John Fraser Cllr Jerry Hyman Cllr John Williamson	Cllr Andy MacLeod
Audit (7)	Cllr Mike Band Cllr John Gray # Cllr Christiaan Hesse Cllr Nicholas Holder Cllr David Round Cllr Richard Seaborne *	Cllr Jerry Hyman	
SCC Local Committee (9 Waverley) (operates under SCC Standing Orders)	Cllr Brian Adams Cllr Carole Cockburn Cllr Val Henry Cllr Denis Leigh Cllr Julia Potts Cllr David Round Cllr Richard Seaborne Cllr Jeanette Stennett	Cllr Jerry Hyman	

[#] indicates nomination for Chairman
* indicates nomination for Vice-Chairman